Members of Parliament urge Ministers to halt deportation

OTTAWA – Today, 23 Members of Parliament co-signed a letter to the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration Jason Kenney and Minister of Public Safety Peter Van Loan urging them to halt the deportation order of Mikhail Lennikov to Russia.

Liberal, Bloc Québécois and New Democrat MPs spoke about the urgency of stopping the deportation order, currently set for tomorrow, June 3rd, 2009.

Mr. Lennikov, who has been living and working in Canada for more than 11 years, is being denied permanent residence status because of a position working briefly with the KGB in the 1980’s. The Lennikovs have never been accused of any crime.

“This deportation order will tear this family apart only days after Mr. Lennikov’s son graduates from high school,” said their New Democrat MP Peter Julian (Burnaby-New Westminster). “The Lennikovs have made an invaluable contribution to the community and there are precedents for granting residence to Mr. Lennikov. It’s not too late to do the right thing.”

All MPs asked the Ministers of Citizenship and Immigration and Public Safety to use their discretion and provide ministerial relief to end the deportation order.

The government already renewed the permits for the family to stay in Canada a half a dozen times.

While Irina and Dmitri’s application of permanent residency has been approved in principle, Citizenship and Immigration Canada has so far refused to waive the deportation order for Mr. Lennikov.

The following MPs have signed the appeal:

Niki Ashton, MP (Churchill) Peter Julian, MP (Burnaby-New Westminster)
Malcolm Allen, MP (Welland) Francine Lalonde, MP (La Pointe-de-l’Île)
Alex Atamanenko, MP (BC-Southern Interior) Megan Leslie, MP (Halifax)
Olivia Chow, MP (Trinity-Spadina) Tony Martin, MP (Sault St. Marie)
Jean Crowder, MP (Nanaimo-Cowichan) Irene Mathyssen, MP (London-Fanshawe)
Nathan Cullen, MP (Skeena-Bulkley Valley) John Rafferty, MP (Thunder Bay-Rainy River)
Don Davies, MP (Vancouver Kingsway) Pablo Rodriguez, MP (Honoré-Mercier)
Libby Davies, MP (Vancouver East)
Bill Siksay, MP (Burnaby-Douglas)
Paul Dewar, MP (Ottawa Centre) Judy Wasylycia-Leis, MP (Winnipeg North)
Sukh Dhaliwal, MP (Newton-Delta North)
Ujjal Dosanjh, MP (Vancouver South)
Linda Duncan, MP (Edmonton Strathcona)
Jack Harris, MP (St. John’s East)
Bruce Hyer, MP (Thunder Bay—Superior-North)

– 30 –

For more information, please contact:
Office of Peter Julian: (613) 222.4074